TORONTO, ON - JULY 17: NTT IndyCar driver Scott Dixon poses with the trophy in the winner's circle after winning the Honda Indy Toronto on July 17, 2022 on the Streets of Toronto. (Photo by Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

In auto racing news is Around Exhibition Place’s street track, Felix Rosenqvist finished third, while Colton Herta was second. With 52 victories, Dixon is currently equal for the second-most IndyCar history with the late Mario Andretti. With 67, A.J. Foyt holds the all-time lead.

Toronto’s Devlin DeFrancesco, an IndyCar rookie, finished in 18th place. Nearby Stouffville, Ontario, resident Dalton Kellett ran nine circuits before a mechanical issue forced a stop to his run.

Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, the Honda Indy was postponed in 2020 and 2021, giving both Canadian drivers their first Honda Indy experience.

Early in the race, Kellett’s car began to smoke, forcing him to break. After the crew from A.J. Foyt Enterprises worked on Kellett’s vehicle, the local was disqualified from the race. Read on to know more about this auto racing news. 

Motorsports News: Fourth Honda Indy Toronto victory for Scott Dixon

In the 45th lap, Alexander Rossi’s car was totaled when Rosenqvist shoved him into a barricade. When Rossi’s accident occurred, Dixon was in the lead and showed the field how to enter the pit. Rinus VeeKay didn’t enter the pit and maintained the lead till he did to change his tires.

Know With auto racing news the 58th lap, Kyle Kirkwood, a rookie, and Jimmie Johnson collided. Kirkwood drove into Johnson’s path when Johnson began to turn into his lane. Kirkwood struck Johnson’s side when Johnson began to turn into his lane.

Dixon led the race for the majority of it, despite Herta taking the pole in qualifying on Saturday. Herta’s tactician was seen on the broadcast telling him to focus on fuel conservation otherwise but to try to pass Dixon if the opportunity presented itself toward the finish of the race.

Herta was never given a chance to take the lead because Dixon kept this for more than 20 of the last laps of the contest.

As of Sunday’s race in Toronto, Dixon had gone 23 races without a win. He has now won in 18 successive seasons.

Notes: The rock group Arkells, winners of a Juno Award, provided honorary grand marshals for the event. Max Kerman and Mike DeAngelis.

For the first time in three years, INDYCAR action returned to Exhibition Place in Toronto. Herta, who won the pole position, and Dixon, who started together on the front row, took the lead of the 26-car field right away, with Herta in front of the field’s drivers who were adhering to the primary race strategy. 

Following the first round of the primary group’s scheduled pit stops, Dixon narrowly edged out Herta, and the six-time series champion maintained his lead. With today’s victory, Dixon has surpassed Mario Andretti to move into second place among the all-time Indy car winners, just behind the legendary A.J. Foyt.

On the other hand, Herta managed to hold off a determined assault from Felix Rosenqvist in the last circuits to place second, his best finish since winning the Indianapolis Grand Prix earlier this season.

The Rahal Letterman Lanigan team’s Christian Lundgaard and Graham Rahal both put in solid efforts for Honda, with Rahal coming from 14th on the starting row to finish fourth. Lundgaard is finishing eighth, leading the field of five rookie drivers.

INDY Scott Dixon triumphs in a historic race at the Honda Indy Toronto:

On Sunday, Scott Dixon won the Honda Indy Toronto by a wide margin, giving him victory 52 in the IndyCar Series. Dixon led 40 of the 85 laps. The New Zealander was second among all-time winners with the late Mario Andretti. A.J. Foyt has 67 career victories and is the only man still in pursuit.

It’s incredible, Dixon said. Whenever I get a question about Mario, I feel grateful that A.J. and he is still in the pits. We get to interact with them and see them. It’s simply outstanding. The finish line also brought an end to Dixon’s 23-race winless skid. Sweden’s Felix Rosenqvist finished third. Marcus Ericsson of Sweden and Graham Rahal completed the top five.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here